BBC Doctor Who Books - The Past Doctor Stories BBC
The Previous Book
Empire of Death
by David Bishop
The Next Book
The Previous Book The Next Book

Book - Empire of Death
Empire of Death
(David Bishop)
On the Back Cover:

 In 1856, a boy discovers he can speak with the voices of the dead. He grows up to become one of England's most celebrated spiritualists.

 In 1863 the British Empire is effectively without a leader. Queen Victoria is inconsolable with grief following the death of her beloved husband, Prince Albert. The monarch's last hope is a secret seance.

 The Doctor and Nyssa are also coming to terms with loss following the death of Adric and Tegan's sudden departure. Trying to visit the Great Exhibition of 1851, the time travellers are shocked when a ghost appears in the TARDIS, beckoning them to the Other Side.

 What is hidden in a drowned valley guarded by the British Army? Is there life after death and can it be reached by those still alive? And why is The Doctor so terrified of facing his own ghosts?


  • This novel features the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa
  • Released: March 2004
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd
  • ISBN: 0-563-48615-5
Return to the top of this page

The Past Doctor Stories
KJ Software
Video, Audio and Book Covers

Press to go back to the previous visited page Who Me Books and Memorabilia Index
Doctor Who is the copyright of the British Broadcasting Corporation. No infringements intended. This site is not endorsed by the BBC or any representatives thereof.