BBC Doctor Who Books - The Eighth Doctor Stories BBC
The Previous Book
The Burning
by Justin Richards
The Next Book
The Previous Book The Next Book

Book - The Burning
The Burning
(Justin Richards)
On the Back Cover:

 The late nineteenth century - the age of reason, of enlightenment, of industrialisation. Britain is the workshop of the world, the centre of the Empire.

 Progress has left Middletown behind. The tin mine is worked out, jobs are scarce, and a crack has opened across the moors that the locals believe reaches into the depths of Hell itself.

 But things are changing: Lord Urton is preparing to reopen the mine; the Society for Psychical Research is interested in the fissure; Roger Nepath and his sister are exhibiting their collection of mystic Eastern artefacts. People are dying. Then a stranger arrives, walking out of the wilderness: a man with no name, no history.

 Only one man can unravel the mysteries; only one man can begin to understand the forces that are gathering; only one man can hope to fight against them. And only one man knows that this is just the beginning of the end of the world.

 Only one man can stop The Burning.

  • This is another in the series of original adventures for the Eighth Doctor.
  • Released: August 2000
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd
  • ISBN: 0-563-53812-0
Return to the top of this page

The Eighth Doctor Stories
KJ Software
Video, Audio and Book Covers

Press to go back to the previous visited page Who Me Books and Memorabilia Index
Doctor Who is the copyright of the British Broadcasting Corporation. No infringements intended. This site is not endorsed by the BBC or any representatives thereof.